The History of Writing (for me)

Often times, people face personal dilemmas that confuse and worry them. I am no exception to this predicament, but I have found a means to cope with my worries. If I face a question along the lines of “Why am I the way I am?” I take a minute to sit in a completely dark room and think and think deeply. I am my own therapist. Once I have concocted some form of understanding to answer the question, a light bulb comes on, literally. I turn on one light on my lamp and begin the fun.

Once that light comes on, I begin a process. First I find a very specific pen, whose ink is drunk by the paper and stains it as to never leave. Once I have my trusty writing utensil, I grab my handy-dandy notebook, a yellow spiral to be exact, and open up to my last entry. What I write is as important to me as how it is written, it must be done neatly and without mistake. I do not write long paragraphs or a story of my thoughts, I write quotes. I keep it simple by just one to two sentences for the purpose of memory. If I can remember what I have written, then I can share it.

An example is one night, I was unsure how I could be so confident in things, knowing that many times I fail. After a short time, I created one of my favorite quotes; “I am not confident, I simply accept the fact that I will fail.”

I do not share my quotes openly or randomly blurt them out, but if the situation presents itself, and i can remember it, I’ll say one. Often times it goes unnoticed, but I believe that it will stick with the listener subconsciously because I have seen my friends have greater clarification of their lives in a matter similar to what the quote is concerned with.

This is more than writing for me. As most authors probably feel, it carries part of my soul with the ink-stained paper. These quotes are the answers to many of my problems, and help my life advance in a positive direction because I no longer need to dwell on one problem, I can move to the next. I need an answers much more specific to me as an individual, and thinking for a few minutes and writing down a quote is the best way I know how to get them.

4 thoughts on “The History of Writing (for me)”

  1. I told myself I was not going to comment on your blog, but I can comment on as many as I want, and so I will go do so anyways. I have always enjoyed reading what you write, and I feel like I found an explanation as to why you write so beautifully within this blog post. Foster noted that short poems take more time to write since everything has to be more perfect and more precise than longer ones. I feel like quotes are basically mini poems and because of that, more thought must go into creating them. When I have been upset, I enjoy looking up inspirational quotes, but I think your idea of original quotes based on your own troubles is extremely interesting and very unique.

    Like

  2. This post is very interesting, due to the fact that most people pour their heart and soul out into a multi-paragraph paper on how they feel at the moment or an important event that occurred in their life. Many people don’t even pick up a pen at all. However, you were able to find a middle ground that suits you. I am intrigued that you can fit all your thoughts into a single quote that you can apply to later situations. This blog was a refreshing read and I can’t wait to see more!

    Like

Leave a comment